Torrey Botanical Society Symposium Award

The Torrey Botanical Society supports an annual symposium award of $1,000. Applicants will be judged by a committee of the Council of the Society, and recipients will be announced before 1 April each year.

Organizers should send the following information: 1) a description of the symposium and its importance, 2) a list of the speakers and their topics, and 3) current C.V.s of the organizers. The proposals should be written using Times New Roman font, 12-point, with pages having 1-inch top and bottom margins, and 1.25-inch side margins. All applications must be sent electronically by the applicant to the Chair of the Grants and Awards Committee. Submit applications as pdf files only, with the applicant’s surname first in file name (e.g. Name_proposalSymposium.pdf). Deadline for applications is 15 January each year.

By the end of the calendar year of support, a non-solicited report of one paragraph should be sent by the award recipient(s) to the Chair of the Grants and Awards Committee. Recipients of symposium awards should consider publishing results of the symposium in the Journal of the Torrey Botanical Society.

Previous awardees (all $1,000):

2013. Dr. Allison Miller of St. Louis University and Dr. Toby Kellogg of University of Missouri-St. Louis for support of a symposium entitled Speaking of food: connecting basic and applied science to be held at Botany 2013 in New Orleans, Louisiana.

2012.  Jordan Sinclair of Wayne State University and Rupesh Kariyat of Pennsylvania State University for support of a symposium entitled Ecological interactions affecting the evolution of plant mating systems: Current research and future directions to be held at Botany 2012 in Columbus Ohio.

2011. Dr. Ashley Egan of East Carolina University for support of a symposium entitled Advances in plant systematics and population genomics: Applications of next generation techniques held at Botany 2011 in St. Louis, Missouri.

2007. Drs. Susan Pell of the Brooklyn Botanic Garden and Allison Miller of St. Louis University for support of a symposium entitled Evolution and diversification in the Sapindales held at Botany 2007 in Chicago, Illinois.

2006. Dr. David Lentz for support of a symposium entitled Medicinal plants of Southeast Asia: contributions and potential contributions to medicine to be held in June 2006 as part of the annual Society of Economic Botany meeting to be held in Chaing Mai, Thailand.

2005. The New England invasive plant summit. Awarded to Ms. Nava M. Tabak and held at Farmington, MA from 16-18 September 2005.

2004. Migration, Markets, and Changing Systems of Plant Use. Organized by Valerie Imbruce, Angela Steward, and Christine Padoch. Held at the 45th annual meeting of the Society of Economic Botany in Canterbury, England in June 2004.